Husband’s Birthday Food-Fest

The hubs turned 29 on Wednesday, and I wanted to make sure he got a good celebration out of it. The past two years, his birthday just kind of blew by. In 2011, we were getting married two weeks after his birthday, and I was a clinically insane person, so I think I probably wished him a quick “happy birthday” the morning of, and that was that. Then, in 2012, I was out of town for work on his actual birthday, and we were moving into our first new home a few weeks later, so we were on a strict spending ban. This year, I could tell he was getting a bit of a complex about it, so I wanted to make sure his day was fully acknowledged and celebrated.

And in my world, that means food. Lots of it. So he woke up to Birthday Cake Pancakes. Nothing like a diabetic coma to kick-off your birthday!

20130401-185845.jpg

They were so delicious, and totally worth the mound of dishes they left in my sink at 6 o’clock in the morning.

Then, for dinner, I made him Drunken Pork Chops with our favorite Mashed Potatoes. He loves pork chops (and beer, for that matter), but I’m not a huge fan, so this was a treat for him. See the sacrifices I make? Mine didn’t look nearly as good as the ones in Siggy Spice’s blog post, so I didn’t snap a pic, but they were pretty good. Dan approved, at least.

And finally, the pièce de résistance of my efforts… A four-tiered Vanilla Strawberry Cake.

20130401-190820.jpg

I gave Dan three choices for his birthday cake, and predictably, he chose this one. And oh my did he choose well. I hate to brag, but… This cake was amazing. It obviously didn’t turn out as pretty and perfect as the image from the blog (can anyone ever make anything look like the picture?!), but oh. em. gee. was it tasty. I’m drooling just thinking about it. The good news is, it was big enough to be a wedding cake, so I can just go grab a piece from fridge. For the next month, most likely.

Leave a Reply

