Chicken Pillows

20130409-194702.jpg
Today is Dan & I’s anniversary. I typically struggle with what to cook for special occasion meals, because everything I want to make is out of my league (and I’m terrified of screwing up an important meal), and nothing I’m capable of making ever seems “special” enough.

So I searched and searched through my cookbooks and blogs, and nothing was striking my fancy. Until I landed on these beauties (mine aren’t quite “beauties,” as you can see, but the originals are): Chicken Pillows. Just the name was enough to draw me in; anything that speaks to my constant desire to be asleep is right up my alley.

As soon as I read the ingredients, I knew I was in: crescent rolls (let’s be honest, that’s all I really needed to hear), cream cheese, shredded chicken, crackers… Yes, yes, yes, yes. Sold.

I used reduced-fat cream cheese (which Dan just discovered is called “neufchatel,” and is positively tickled by), reduced fat Crescents, and reduced fat Ritz crackers–every little bit counts, right?!–but otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely. If I’d been better prepared and had cooked and shredded the chicken in advance, this would’ve taken thirty minutes flat. Having to cook and shred the chicken first, it took me roughly 45 minutes. Luckily, we had lots of leftover Twice-Baked Cauliflower from last night’s disastrous meal (which maybe I’ll share when I recover from the trauma), so I didn’t have to worry about throwing a side together too.

One thought on “Chicken Pillows

Leave a Reply

