Easy Berry Cobbler

20130420-091137.jpg
Phew! It’s been a crazy few weeks at the Jones household. Birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, and work trips galore. In fact, I’m quite looking forward to being home, in my own bed, for seven days in row this week–the first time that’s happened in over two months. I’m a borderline recluse, so that’s a big deal for me.

This week, I had a work trip, but I didn’t have a lot of time on Sunday to prep anything big for Dan. Luckily, thanks to my parents, our freezer is fully stocked with delicious burgers, chicken, steaks and other yummies from Omaha Steaks, so I knew he wouldn’t starve.

Still, I had to do something, so I figured I’d at least make him a dessert treat. I’d spotted this recipe for a “lightened up” Berry Cobbler from Weight Watchers, and thought that would be a better choice than my usual calorie-packed cookies and cakes.

I’ll admit, trying out a new cookie recipe, or whipping up one of the gazillion pies I’ve been wanting try, or even some good ol’ cupcakes would’ve been tastier, and probably more fun, but the truth is… This baking habit of mine is making us a little chubby. Or at least, making me chubby, and making my husband handsomer somehow, though he claims he’s getting chubby–how does that work, by the way?! Men and their high metabolisms suck.

Regardless, for a lower calorie dessert, this was truly tasty, and unbelievably easy! Dump some frozen berries, topped with cake mix, polished off with diet 7-up. Bake, and done. Plus, you get to top it with vanilla ice cream (Dreyer’s Slow-Churned, to be specific)–my ultimate favorite dessert–so that’s a bonus.

Give it a try next time you’re looking for a lowish-calorie treat!

Leave a Reply

