White Bean Chicken Enchiladas

20130505-095524.jpg
Happy Cinco de Mayo! To celebrate, I thought I’d share the first of my semi-healthy recipes, which also happens to be perfect for this holiday.

I should preface that I’m very aware that what I consider “semi-healthy” is (for the most part) not actually healthy or diet-friendly. I just try to look for things I would normally crave, and find lightened-up versions of them. That way, I know it’s at least better for us than what I would usually make.

These White Bean and Chicken Enchiladas are actually not too bad at all. The worst part of the whole recipe is the tortillas, and if you use whole wheat or low-carb, then you can soften that blow a little bit. It looks like there’s a ton of cheese dumped on top in the photo, but there’s really only about 1/2 cup or less of low-fat cheese sprinkled on them. The creamy green chile sauce melts in with the shredded cheese, though, giving it that delightfully melty texture.

These take a little bit longer than my typical meals—about an hour all in. They definitely pushed my skills right to the limit, with three different pieces of the meal going on the stove simultaneously at one point (cue cooking meltdown!)… But in the end, I think it’s pretty fool-proof. The filling and sauce both probably simmered a little longer than they were supposed to, because I was working on the Cilantro-Lime Rice I served with this, but they still turned out delicious, super-filling, with just a kick of spice.

Dan even declared these as my best Mexican food yet… And I cook a LOT of Mexican food, so that’s sayin’ something!

2 thoughts on “White Bean Chicken Enchiladas

  1. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I get four emails with
    the same comment. There has to be an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

